Columbus 151 Speedway, Columbus, WI 2012 track championships at columbus 151

Discussion in 'Wisconsin Race Tracks' started by Race Results, Sep 16, 2012.

  1. Race Results

    Race Results Guest

    Columbus, WI. (Sunday, September 10, 2012). Don Gaserude, Kevin Anderson, Dave Trute, Jamie Kohn, and Andy Ward Jr. were named the 2012 track champions at the Columbus 151 Speedway at the conclusion of the racing events at the speedway today in the late model, street stock, hobby stock, bandit and backup divisions respectively.

    Coming into the day, Gaserude was already assured his status as late model track champ, his first in a late model at this track. The event was an exciting one, with Tiffany Desjarlais taking the early lead from her pole position starting slot. After a major shunt before a lap was completed took out a couple of cars, the event started more smoothly the second time around. Desjarlais controlled the event early, with Veteran Bill Retallick glued to her bumper, seemingly content to follow the leader for now. Brady Liddle took to the outside groove, making progress, as he looked outside Kyle Smith for the third spot, just as Retallick decided to try the outer groove to work past Desjarlais. Steady progress was made on both accounts, as Retallick cleared for the lead on lap 16, with Liddle taking second on lap 18. From there, Retallick kept his place up front, with Liddle unable to gain much ground on the leader. Retallick was first to the checkers, taking his first feature win in just over a year. Liddle placed second, followed by Smith, Desjarlais, and Ron Bishofberger. Retallick won the battle, but Gaserude wins the war! Earlier in the day, Bishofberger set fast time, with heat race wins going to Terry Sauer, Desjarlais, and Spencer Schultz.

    Kevin Anderson had the title wrapped up in the street stocks prior to the racing today, and he showed why he is champ, taking the feature win to add icing to the cake. Jim Rohrbeck took the early lead, with Ed Jackson settling into second, and Anderson now third. the natives were getting restless, and on lap 18 went three wide briefly, with Rohrbeck, Jackson and Anderson all looking to come out on top. Rohrbeck retained the lead, but on lap 20 Anderson took over the second spot from Jackson, then setting his sights on Rohrbeck. Anderson made the pass on the outside on lap 22, with Steven Sauer seemingly shot out of a cannon to swoop in and take second on lap 24. Anderson continued to lead, with Sauer gaining rapidly, with Phil Denikas also rapidly on the move, taking third on lap 28. With the race coming to a close, Anderson held on to cap his championship season with the feature win, followed by Sauer, Denikas, Colin Tomlinson, and Rohrbeck. Sauer set fast time, with Rohrbeck and Anderson splitting the heat races.

    Dave Trute brought an insurmountable point lead into the day in the hobby stocks, but that didn't mean he didn't want his season to end without another feature win. Brandon Johnson took the early lead, with Michael Held settling into second. After a caution, Trute wasted little time in letting his presence be felt, as he dogged Johnson, inching ahead. From there it appeared that Trute would run away and hide, but Johnson gamely fought back. In the end, Trute was too much, as he once again pulled away to the win over Johnson, Held, Wayne Buchs, and Duane Deppe. Trute set fast time, with Held taking the win in the heat race.

    Jamie Kohn started the day with a large point lead over Seth Reamer in the Bandits, and made sure it would stay that way as he showed championship form in winning the feature today. Craig Booth took the lead at the start, with Bob Kohn taking second. Kohn then made the pass for the lead on lap 7, with Jeremy Bredeson moving into second, followed by Jamie Kohn, Bill Kohn, and Reamer. Bredeson and Jamie Kohn waged battle side by side behind leader Bob Kohn. Jamie took second on lap 12, then passed his brother for the lead on lap 15. From there, Jamie took control over Bob Kohn, Bredeson, Reamer, and Bill Kohn. Reamer set fast time, with heat race wins being recorded by Robby Robinson and Jamie Kohn.

    The backup racers had the real points battle going on, with no less than three drivers having a chance at the title going into the racing action. Andy Ward held a slim lead over Matt Wachuta and George Wachuta, and once the racing started, Wayne Hook jumped out to the lead, with Rick Verdon taking over at the conclusion of the first lap. Dustin Von Allmen then tasted the lead, with Ward spinning solo, but recovering without losing a spot. Von Allmen continued to lead, with Matt Wachuta in second, and Ward third. This is the way they finished, with Ward knowing where he had to finish in order to grab the title, albeit by only one point.

    Several mechanics and powder puff events were held at the conclusion of the day, with the Bandit powder puff event going to Dawn Hernandez, the hobby stock event going to Jessica Held, and the street stock race going to Sherry Anderson. Ron Odegaard won the late model mechanics race, with Todd Belz winning the street stock event. The winners of the Bandit and hobby stock races were disqualified, as they are current drivers at other tracks/divisions, and this is not allowed.

    Two more events are still to be held at the track this season, with a two day flea market on tap for October 13th and 14th. Then, the track will host an ISS enduro on October 27th. Plans are already being made for an even bigger and better 2013!

Share This Page