34 Raceway West Burlington, IA 34 Raceway April 16 Recap

Discussion in 'Iowa Race Tracks' started by Race Results, Apr 19, 2016.

  1. Race Results

    Race Results Administrator Staff Member

    Pierce takes wins 8th Annual Slocum 50 in front of huge crowd

    BURLINGTON, IA (4-16-16) – Great weather, a huge crowd, and a stellar field of late model drivers meant for a great nice of racing for the 8th annual Slocum 50 at 34 Raceway Saturday night April 16. 305 Sprints and IMCA Stock Cars also added to a great night at the track with John Oliver, Jr. Danville picking up a stock car win and Dustin Clark getting the win in the W.T. Gabeline and Sons Trucking 305 Sprint feature. But the big win came from Bobby Pierce, Oakwood, Il, winning the 50 lap super late model feature race and going home with a $10,555 check. Pierce used the high side of the super-fast 3/8 mile oval to take the checkers. Pierce dominated the fierce Corn Belt Clash competitors, passing everyone up to 7th place to win his second Slocum 50.Ryan Unzicker, last year’s winner, appeared to want to repeat in the early laps but was passed by Pierce early in the race. Unzicker held on for second, followed by Brian Shirley, Chris Simpson and Jason Feger. With Fire Works blazing in the night sky following the final race of the evening, everyone went home raising a “High 5” for Brent Slocum.

    The Brent Slocum Foundation is in its 8th year and was started after the death of late model racer Brent Slocum (Burlington) who was killed in an accident in the pit area in 2005. Brent loved racing and was a friend to many and was a regular at 34 Raceway. Brent Slocum Foundation's primary event is the annual Slocum 50, which is hosted at 34 Raceway in Burlington, Iowa in April. The Foundation, in his honor, awards scholarships to area seniors. $40,000 has been award in Brent’s name. $1.00 from each adult grandstand admission ticket sold went to the foundation as well as half of the 50/50 money collected at the race. Board members include Jennifer Bailey- President, Brad Stevens-VP, Kim Taeger-Treasurer, Brad Lange- Secretary, Trudy Slocum, Jessi Mynatt, Heather Lange and Marty Taeger. This groups works hard all year long to make the Slocum 50 one of the premier races.

    The Pepsi IMCA Stock saw John Oliver, Jr., Danville, getting the win holding off a late charge by Jeff Meuller, New London, in the final laps. Andrew Hustead, Tom Bowling and Jake Wenig rounded out the top five.

    A nice field of 305 Sprints started the twenty lap feature with Dustin Clark, Eldon, getting the win. Clark took the lead from Dave Getchell on the 17th lap and went on to take the win. Shane Quam, Matt Krieger, Getchell and Brandyn Martin rounded out the top five.

    Coming up this week, Saturday, April 23 with the Mt. Dew Kick Start the Season Night. At 34 Raceway. Classes competing will be W.T. Gabeline and Sons Trucking 305 Sprints, Ryner Transportation IMCA Modifieds, Casebine Credit Union IMCA Sport Mods, Pepsi IMCA Stock Cars, Sunoco Fuel Mod Lites and the Sonny’s Market 4 Cylinders.

    For more information go to 34raceway.com or like them on facebook.

    8th Annual SLOCUM 50

    FEATURE: 1. Bobby Pierce, Oakwood,Il., 2. Ryan Unzicker, El Paso, Il., 3. Brian Shirley, Chatham, Il., 4. Chris Simpson, Oxford, Ia, 5. Jason Feger, Bloomington, Il., 6. Jimmy Mars, Menomonie, Wi, 7. Frank Heckenast, Jr., Orland Park, Il., 8. Rodney Sanders, Happy, Tx, 9. Jason Utter, Columbus Junction, Ia, 10. Tony Jackson, Jr., Lebanon, Mo., 11. Jason Papich, Nipomo, Ca, 12. Scott Schmitt, Tonica, Il., 13. Austin Asplin, Birch Tree, Mo., 15. Jeff Roth, Bentonville, Ar, 16. Jesse Stovall, Galena, Mo., 17. Chad Simpson, Mt. Vernon, 18. Spencer Diercks, Davenport, 19. Tad Pospisil, Norfolk, Ne, 20. Brian Birkhofer, Muscatine, 21. Justin Reed, Quincy, Il., 22. Payton Looney, Republic, Mo., 23. Mark Burgtorf, Quincy, Il, 24. Dave Eckrich, Oxford, Ia

    B Main: 1. Feger, 2 Chad Simpson, 3. Gundaker, 4. Pospisil, 5. Birkhofer, 6. Randy Timms, Wheatland, Ok, 7. Bob Gardner, Washington, Il., 8. Burgtorf, 9. Sam Halstead, New London, 10. Dustin Griffin, Camp Point, Il., 11. Kolby Vandenbergh, Ashland, 12. Jeff Roth, Bentonville, Ar.

    HEAT WINNERS: Unzicker, Mars, Stovall, Chris Simpson.

    W.T. Gabeline and Sons Trucking 305 Sprints

    FEATURE: 1. Dustin Clark, Eldon, 2. Shane Quam, Gladstone, Il., 3. Matt Krieger, Fort Dodge, 4. Dave Getchell, Sperry, 5. Brandyn Martin, Eldon, 6. Brayden Gaylord, Wever, 7. Nathan Murders, Burlington, 8. Dillan Roth, Burlington, 9. John Schulz, West Burlington, 10. Andy Krieger, Burlington, 11. Kyle Peterson, Gladstone, Il., 12. Evan Epperson, Muscatine, 13. Mike Dapra, Knoxville, 15. Jarrod Schneiderman, West Burlington, 15. Nick Guernsey, Burlington, 16. Daniel Bergquist, Burlington, 17. Devon Rouse, Burlington, 18. Tanner Gebhardt, Burlington. HEAT WINNERS: Schulz, Quam, Getchell.


    FEATURE: 1. John Oliver, Jr., Danville, 2. Jeff Mueller, New London, 3. Andrew Hustead, Rutledge, Mo., 4. Tom Bowling, Danville, 5. Jake Wenig, Burlington, 6. Abe Huls, Carthage, Il., 7. Chad Krogmeier, Burlington, 8. Ray Raker, Danville, 9. Lane Kauffman, Morning Sun, 10. John Brockway, Morning Sun, 11. Shane Watts, Burlington, 12. Dean Kratzer, Fort Madison, 13. Chase Klenk, New London, 14. Dane Fenton, Burlington, 15. Randy Wachter, Burlington.

Share This Page