Moler Raceway Park, Williamsburg, OH 3rd Annual Coca Cola Turkey Gobbler 40

Discussion in 'Ohio Race Tracks' started by Race Results, Jan 5, 2016.

  1. Race Results

    Race Results Administrator Staff Member

    For only the 3rd time Mother Nature provided weather good enough for MolerRaceway Park to host the Turkey Gobbler event and this year's event was exciting to say the least. As is the case with the two previous versions there were many new faces in attendance in the stands and on the racetrack. Lots of new racers usually results in many more than normal cautions and that was definitely the case this year. In the Mt. Orab Ford Late Model Division there were 26 cars on hand forcing the drivers to race their way into the main event through qualifying heat races.

    Lawrenceburg, Indiana’s Jason Jameson was victorious in heat race #1 while track Champion Barry Doss ofSardinia, Ohio won the second heat with Richmond, Indiana’s Duane Chamberlain victorious in the 3rd heat event. Manchester, Ohio’s Jeff Arnold was victorious in the 12 lap B-main event.

    In the 40 lap feature event it was Chamberlain out front in his Best Performance, St Henry Nite Club sponsored machine but Jameson was in close pursuit. As they approached lap traffic Jameson was able to get past Chamberlain but it only lasted for a half lap as slower traffic gave Chamberlain the opening to retake the lead. Following a couple of minor incidents and ensuing cautions Jameson was able to finally make the pass and take the lead for good on lap #12. The all-time wins leader in the late model division at the speedway was able to runaway and take his second consecutive season-ending win and 5th win of the season at MRP. Chamberlain would come home second with Michigan driver Brandon Thirlby coming home in third with KC Burdette and Weasel Rhodes rounding out the top five positions.

    In the Holman Motors Modified division there was lots of cars and lots of excitement with 29 cars on hand trying to make the 20 lap feature event. The excitement started early in themodifieds as a make-up feature from October 5th was the first event on the day.

    From the beginning the make-up race was interesting as drivers in different cars were told in the drivers meeting that they would start from the tail of the event. In what was originally a 22 car field there were 17 able to return from that October evening and start the race.

    At the green it was Jimmy Lennox Jr out front leading the field but many eyes were on Robert Garnes out of Ripley, WV as he charged from 12th spot to overtake Lennox on lap 13 and set sail for what appeared to be a big win. Following the post race accolades it was determined that Garnes was in a different car from that October night and he should have started on the tail of the field. As a result Dave McWilliams was credited with the win in his Reaper Racecar.Lennox would get second spot with Dan Dehner, Derrick Davis, and Shane Mugavin rounding out the top five positions.

    In the regular program of events for the Modifieds it was Garnes winning heat race #1 with Steve Clemmons of Chillicothe, Ohio winning heat race #2 with Hanover, Indiana’s Joey Kramer winning the 3rd heat race. In the B-main event it was Courtney Conley of Lexington, Kentucky taking the win and setting the field of cars.

    In the A-main it was all Joey Kramer as the “Rocketman” would pilot the Don Adams owned Lightning Chassis house car to another win at the ¼ mile speed plant. Chasing Kramer across the line was Garnes and McWilliams while Collin Thirlby came from 11th to place fourth with Clay City, Kentucky’s Keith Smith came home in fifth spot.

    In the Holman Motors Chevette division it was once again Rusty Yarger the man to beat as the Hillsboro, Ohio driver claimed yet another feature win on the season (his 11th total win at MRP). There was a great battle behind him though as Sean Jones, Josh Francis, and Boog Verdon battled all the way to the checkered flag sometimes 3 wide. Jones and Yarger were winners of the preliminary heat races.

    In the Crazy Compact division there was a nice field of cars on hand with many newcomers in attendance for the seasons final event including 13 year old Bethany Moler, a fourth-generation driver of the Moler Family. The feature event started with Collin Green out front with Justin Dalton in pursuit. On lap 6 Green suddenly slowed momentarily off of turn #2 allowing Dalton to take the lead and behind them there was about 10 cars battling for 3rd through 6th spot. With 1 lap remaining it appeared as if Dalton and Green were both going to be passed by Trevor Landrum but another caution flew for an incident off of turn #2 causing a 1 lap shootout to finish the race and the season. With the green flag in the air it was Green getting under Dalton down the backstretch and as they came off of turn 4 for the final time Collin Green was able to inch ahead and take the win. Dalton would get second with Landrum, Jerry Gibson Jr, and Chris Sawyer taking the top five spots after some penalties were levied for jumping the final restart.

Share This Page