Adams County Speedway Corning, IA ACS Crowns 2012 Champions

Discussion in 'Iowa Race Tracks' started by Race Results, Sep 18, 2012.

  1. Race Results

    Race Results Guest

    R&S Auto Championship night rolled off with nearly perfect weather and track conditions as 103 cars took to the track for the final night of NASCAR Whelen All-American series action in the 2012 season.
    The points leaders coming into the night all did what they had to do to hang onto their leads as Jeremy Auten claimed the Chat Mobility hobby stocks, Jerod Weston the Stalker Chevrolet B-mods, Greg Miller logged a record ninth Northland Oil pro-stock, Jared Stiens the Poet Biorefining modifieds, and JC Wyman the Coors Light Silver Bullet late model championship.
    Feature winners were Kenny Champ, Jerod Weston, Tony Hardisty, Brian Foote, and John Hampel. Winners in the inaugural ACS Revenge Challenge races were Jeremy Auten in the hobby stocks and Craig Garner in the b-mods.
    In the first feature of the evening Kenny Champ came off of a poor heat race performance that forced him to start nineteenth to capture his second win of the season. Champ made a steady march through the field advancing his position on nearly every lap to take the lead away from Patrick Pellman with just three laps to go. Brett Sink finished second, moving up eleven spots from his start, with Pellman, Andy Davison, and Rick Ritchie rounding out the top five.
    The pressure was off of point leader Jeremy Auten early in the race when the only drivers within reach of the championship were sidelined early with mechanical woes. Jeremy Purdy and Matt McAtee both left the race with only two laps completed. Auten cruised to a sixth place finish and ended the season with 579 points, 47 more than McAtee and 78 ahead of Purdy.
    The Stalker Chevrolet b-mod crown was Jerod Weston’s if he could only finish eighth or better, but Weston had winning on his mind and win is what he did. Starting tenth in a field of nineteen Weston took the lead from Craig Garner with five laps to go and took the checkers over a full second ahead of Blain Petersen who moved into second on the same lap Weston took the lead. Garner ended third with Chris Vannausdle fourth and Tyler Gross fifth.
    Weston’s win cemented his championship with a fifty-one point margin over second place Jeff Jones. Blain Petersen, Ron Ballinger, and Bret Sheppard finished third through fifth with rookie Josh Cooper sixth.
    The Northland Oil pro-stock division entered the night with eight time champion Greg Miller holding a commanding, but not insurmountable point lead over Jason Rold. Just six laps into the eighteen lap race Miller slowed due to mechanical problems. After three more laps he pulled the Gary Nissen owned number 83 machine to the pits. Rold went on the finish third and closed the margin on Miller by twenty-four points, but fell thirteen points short.
    Meanwhile Corning’s Tony Hardisty made it two weeks in a row in the Miller Lite Victory Lane by charging to the front from his inside row six start. Craig Garner finished second with Rold, Joe Zadina, and Clay Mercer rounding out the top five.
    Essex’s Brian Foote took his Poet Biorefining modified into the last points night trailing Maryville’s Jared Stiens by eighteen points. Foote, badly hobbled with leg and hip pain that left him barely able to walk, strapped in and did everything he could as he won the feature and captured the five bonus points for the win. Jared Stiens started the row behind Foote and followed him to the front, and his second place finish cemented his first track championship with his lead trimmed to only eleven points. Third thru fifth in the feature were Kirby Stiens, Larry Foote, and Dan Mueller, while the point race ended with Jared Stiens on top, followed by Brian Foote, Jesse Dennis, John Davis, and Todd Van Eaton.
    Just one month ago JC Wyman’s point lead in the Coors Light Silver Bullet late models was in the single digits, but Wyman has closed the season with strong finishes while Jason O’Brien has suffered both mechanical and on-track difficulties to let Wyman win the championship with a comfortable thirty-eight point margin. O’Brien was trailed by John Hampel and Paul Glendenning who tied for third with Hampel gaining the advantage with two wins on the season while defending champion Glendenning finished winless this season. Fifth in points was eight time champion Chris Spieker.
    Sixteen year old Daulton Maassen held a two point lead coming into the final night over Sterling Perkins as they battled for the rookie of the year award. Maassen captured the award when Perkins failed to make the call for the feature when mechanical problems sidelined him during the heat race. Both rookies managed to end the season in the top ten in points, with Maassen 9th and Perkins 10th.
    John Hampel ended his race season by capturing his second win by posting a commanding two point six second margin over Spieker in the twenty-five lap feature. Glendenning, JC Wyman, and Justin Zeitner rounded on the top five in a caution filled marathon that took nearly thirty minutes to complete.
    The evening was capped off with the inaugural ACS Revenge Challenge races. These ten lap features were lined up by random draw, but each driver had to give the starting position he drew to another competitor. In the hobby stock race even starting Jeremy Auten back in sixteenth didn’t stop him from taking the $360 winner-takes-all purse. In the b-mod event Ron Ballinger was kind enough to give the outside front row start to Craig Garner. In a cruel twist of fate Garner held on to the win by a scant .046 seconds ahead of Ballinger. Garner pocketed $260 for his efforts.
    The 2012 race season will finish on a high point as the fifteenth annual CPS Tradition will welcome nearly 150 cars on September 22nd as four classes of cars will race for over $25,000 in prize money in southwest Iowa’s richest on-day race event. $1500 will go to the winners in the pro-stock and modified classes, while the hobby stocks and b-mods compete for the $1000 winner’s share.
    January 26, 2013 is the date of the ACS Champions’ awards banquet to be held at the Cass County community center in Atlantic. The banquet is open to racers, crews, and fans of all sizes. Tickets will be available soon along with full details at

Share This Page