Seymour Speedway, Seymour, WI Final Two Champions Crowned

Discussion in 'Wisconsin Race Tracks' started by Race Results, Sep 17, 2012.

  1. Race Results

    Race Results Guest

    Berna, LaCrosse, Lecker, Courchaine & Cota Cash In At Seymour Super Speedway

    (Seymour, WI) September 2 Results - Derek Lecker scored his second win in a row in the Street Stocks at Seymour Super Speedway. Other feature winners on Jerry Calaway night were Ron Berna (Late Model), Benji LaCrosse (Modified) Jon Courchaine (Stock Car), Jeremy Cota (Sport Mod) and Calvin Stueck (Sport Fours)

    In the Spectator Eliminator it was Ben Rotter beating out 2-time winner Beau Schroeder for the victory in the full size class. Other entries and winners were Cody Peeters, Frank Calabrese, Brian Hillringhouse, Kayla Wilcox, Jeff “Land Shark” Schroeder, Jordan Lessor, Jen Schroeder and Ryan Krause. Thank you all for putting on a great show for the fans!

    103 Cars packed the pit area as Seymour crowned champions in the Street Stocks and Sport Fours. The first feature of the night was the Street Stock main which kept fans on the edge of their seat to see who took home the title. Travis Springstroh came into the night leading the standings by 10 points over Gary Kasperek.

    Derek Lecker wasted no time opening up a sizable lead from his front row starting spot. Travis Springstroh’s night took a turn for the worst on the second lap as Lexxi Ashcraft caught the front stretch wall and lost the handle on her machine pilling into the side of the point leader. Ashcraft’s night was finished and Springstroh headed to pit lane with heavy damage, he returned on the lead lap with body panels missing. Kasperek was like a shark seeing blood as he quickly moved through the field and to the back bumper of Lecker. Springstroh’s car wasn’t up to snuff as he ran in the 11th position. With Kasperek second and hounding the leader, Springstroh desperately clung to a 1 point advantage. As Lecker took the white flag a lap car spun out of turn four, Kasperek had no where to go and drilled the lapper at full speed, destroying Kasperek’s racer. He was shaken up from the vicious hit, but was uninjured. Lecker scored the win, Allan Schluter had his best run of the season placing second, Jon Ashcraft third, Jerry Winkler fourth and Jerry Kope rounded out the top five.

    The Street Stock title went to Springstroh, his first in his young racing career. Ryan Blank earned Rookie of the Year honors.

    Benji LaCrosse kept his cool scoring his fourth feature win of the season in the Budweiser Modifieds.

    Couple of Wisconsin’s best in Mike Wedelstadt and LaCrosse started on the front row of the main event. The duo immediately traded paint as the green flag flew sending LaCrosse just about into the front stretch wall. This allowed newly crowned Champion Jason Czarapata to sneak by and to the lead. A caution on lap 3 slowed the field, while under caution LaCrosse and Wedelstadt seemed to have a little discussion about the “incident”. As Gracy waved the green flag LaCrosse worked the highline around Czarapata and never looked back slicing through lap traffic scoring the fan popular win. Czarapata capped off an amazing season with a second place, Rookie of the Year Eric Arneson was third, Marcus Yarie came home fourth after starting fourteenth and newly crowned Luxemburg Speedway champ Sean Jerovetz placed fifth.

    “Rocket” Ron Berna lead all 30 laps en route to victory in the Late Models.

    Berna drew outside row one with Benji LaCrosse starting on the pole in the Bob Cullen prepared machine. Berna got the jump for the lead up high as LaCrosse searched for traction down low. A series of cautions kept the field tight in the early laps. Berna kept his poise and started working through lap traffic at the midway point. Second generation racer Paul Parker gave chase and closed within four car lengths with only 8 laps remaining, but that’s as close as he got as Berna scored a dominating win. Parker had to settle for second, Gordie Seegert was third, Nick Anvelink fourth and Troy Springborn got the hard charger award placing fifth after starting thirteenth.

    Jon Courchaine piloted the Custom Windows Plus machine to victory in the Stock Car feature.

    Courchaine captured the lead from his front row starting spot over Tom Riehl. Several cautions lead to single file restarts where Mike Coel began to pressure Courchaine for the lead. Kyle Fredrick in a borrowed #12 car joined the battle but no one had enough for Courchaine tonight and he scored his first win of the season at Seymour, Coel had to settle for second, Fredrick third, Bob Czarapata looked very impressive taking fourth and Luke Lemmens placed fifth in his first trip to Seymour.

    Jeremy Cota took home his fifth checker of the season the Sport Mods.

    Eric Mahlik borrowing his brother Nick’s car paced the field for the first four laps before Jeremy Cota took the lead away. Cota went the rest of the race unchallenged winning the main, Mahlik placed a solid second, Jason Guyette made a late race charge to take home third, Cody Hakenstad placed a season best fourth and Aaron Muhle rounded out the top five.

    Calvin Stueck took the lead away from Jody Cornelius on lap 4 and went on to not only win his tenth feature of season but earned the track championship in dominating fashion. The title is his first at Seymour.

    Seymour Super Speedway wishes all the drivers who are heading out of state to race good luck! For 2013 information stay connected by visiting the track’s website at like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.


    30 LAP LATE MODEL FEATURE: 1. Ron Berna, Green Bay; 2. Paul Parker, Appleton; 3. Gordie Seegert Jr., Oostburg; 4. Nick Anvelink, Navarino; 5. Troy Springborn, Shawano;
    HEAT 1: Berna; Brett Swedberg, Shawano
    HEAT 2: Paul Parker; Anvelink

    20 LAP BUDWEISER MODIFIED FEATURE: 1.Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay; 2. Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; 3. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls; 4. Marcus Yarie, Wausau; 5. Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico
    HEAT 1: Kyle Fredrick, Oconto Falls; Arneson
    HEAT 2: Mike Wedelstadt, New London; Jerry Wilinski, Seymour
    HEAT 3: LaCrosse; Charlie Wild, Antigo

    15 LAP STOCK CAR FEATURE: 1. Jon Courchaine, Oconto Falls; 2. Mike Coel, Green Bay; 3. Kyle Fredrick, Oconto Falls; 4. Bob Czarapata, Krakow; 5. Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee
    HEAT 1: Mitch Stankowski, Wausau; Tom Riehl, Shawano
    HEAT 2: Barry VanStraten, Shiocton; Courchaine
    HEAT 3: Coel; Bob Czarapata

    20 LAP IMCA SPORT MOD FEATURE: 1. Jeremy Cota, Oconto; 2. Eric Mahlik, Green Bay; 3. Jason Guyette, Black Creek; 4. Cody Hokenstad, Shawano; 5. Aaron Muhle, Beaver Dam
    HEAT 1: Guyette; Jeremy Bierhals, Pulaski
    HEAT 2: Mahlik; Rob Krull, Seymour

    20 LAP STREET STOCK FEATURE: 1. Derek Lecker, Black Creek; 2. Allan Schlueter, Oconto; 3. Jon Ashcraft, Oshkosh; 4. Jerry Winkler, Oshkosh; 5. Jerry Kope, Oshkosh
    HEAT 1: Lecker; Phil Hiles, Appleton
    HEAT 2: Jeff Dorschner, Combined Locks; Lexxi Ashcraft, Oshkosh

    15 LAP 4 CYLINDER FEATURE: 1. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville; 2. Jeff Behm, Clintonville; 3. Tyler Hungerford, Freedom; 4. Frank Calabrese, Shiocton; 5. Cody Hungerford, Little Chute
    HEAT 1: Behm; Stueck

Share This Page