National Trail Raceway, Hebron, OH JEGS ET - Summit Series Results

Discussion in 'Ohio Race Tracks' started by Race Results, Sep 16, 2012.

  1. Race Results

    Race Results Guest

    September 9 , 2012

    It's been over a month since the JEGS ET Series hit the track here at NTR, and today's event found a lot of racers getting back to the track in fine style. With the NHRA North Central Division Bracket Finals next week in Indianapolis, many racers were getting ready for the special event and the chance to race for a National Championship. Today also was the final event in the 2012 VP Racing Fuels Super 32 series and just qualifying for the field was a chore. Sean Graham was able to survive the battle for the third year in a row to win the Super 32 Championship but was not around for the final rounds of racing. Winning today here at NTR were Bill Leahey (VP Racing Fuels Super 32), Bill Webb (Super Pro), John Lawson (Faslube Pro), Chuck Tyack (Leghorns Sportsman), Bruce Sauer (Super Pro Motorcycle), and Marshall Hutchinson Jr. (Street Motorcycle).

    The qualifying sessions in Super 32 were entertaining enough to watch as 50 racers were going after the 32 spots in the field. Leading the fields and gaining the Rock's Trailer Sales Low Qualifier bonuses were the 1995 Probe of Tim Brown (4.740 - Door) and the 2000 Spitzer Dragster of Ashley Marie Bach (4.519 - Open). However, it was the 1999 Race Tech dragster of Leahey, comimg out of the #10 spot on the Open side, that reached the final round. The Columbus, Ohio runner would go up against the 1970 Camaro of Mickey Kredel from Lithopolis, Ohio in the final run. Leahey grabbed the edge with a .004 reaction time off the line and drove around Kredel at the finish line for the win. His 4.820 on a 4.79 won over the 5.609 on a 5.57 for Kredel. The points title was determined in that intense qualifying when 2nd in points Dave Askew was unable to crack the 5.718 Door car bump held by Rod Zolman. Graham won the title by 31 over Askew, with Adam Lear finishing in third.

    A lot of great racing action was also found in the Super Pro class all day long. After a long day of racing, the final round came down to the 2007 Race Tech dragster of Centerburg, Ohio's Webb against the 2011 Diamond dragster of Fred Krakora from Grafton, Ohio. Both seven second dragsters were running well all day long and the reaction time wars would be vital to the final race. Webb would get that critical jump off the line with a nice .011 reaction time. He then held off Krakora at the quarter-mile mark to score the win. A 7.717 on a 7.69 dial in got the win over the 7.482 on a 7.41 for Krakora. Tim Fenneman was able to hold on to the points lead and even extended it to 76 markers over Chris Hess.

    The Pro final round was a classic matchup between two great drivers as the 1971 Duster of Lawson went up against the 1969 Camaro of John Whitmer in the final encounter. Both drivers were ready to go up against one another in the final round race, and it showed right off the line. Whitmer's .013 reaction time was great, but slightly out done by the .007 bulb that Lawson put up. Both drivers went towards the finish looking to take the stripe, and in a double breakout the win light went to Lawson. His 10.023 on a 10.04 dial in got the win over the 11.944 on a 11.97 for Whitmer. Todd Hull was able to shrink the points lead of Greg Held today by getting one round further in eliminations. The lead is now down to 10 points.

    Tyack was able to drive his 1991 Mustang to the win in Sportsman eliminator. The Pataskala, Ohio driver went up against the 2000 Trans Am of Doug Thompson from Columbus, Ohio in the final matchup. The two veteren drivers pulled to the line looking for a win that would give good momentum towards the race at Indy next week. Thompson was better off the line with a .023 reaction time to the .036 light for Tyack. But at the stripe, it was the Mustang that was able to run closer to the dial in for the win. A 14.549 on a 14.51 for Tyack held off the 13.591 on a 13.53 for Thompson. Mike Rehl still leads the division by 27 points over Shawn Pitts.

    The top two in the points battled in the Super Pro Motorcycle final round when the 1976 Kawasaki of Sauer went up against the 2000 Honda of Bob Burt. Sauer, who leads the points, was looking to stop the Orient, Ohio rider from cutting more into his points lead after Sauer was forced to buyback into the event after a round one loss. The Reynoldsburg, Ohio racer was able to do that with a great .002 reaction time that played a big role at the finish line. When the scoreboard lit up, it was a 9.159 on a 9.11 for Sauer that won over the 10.600 on a 10.59 for Burt. The event win allowed Sauer to stop the points loss at 40 over Burt.

    Burt was also looking to score in the Street Motorcycle final round, but it was the 2006 Suzuki of Hutchinson Jr. that would be in the way. The Columbus, Ohio racer, fresh off his Motorcycle title win on the Wednesday Night series, was looking to win and stay in the points race here as well. Burt made the job for the win a little easier as he left the starting line too soon on the final run. Hutchinson Jr. completed the win with a 10.225 on his 9.89 dial in. Burt still is the leader in the points, now by 44 over new second place Sean Robson.

    In other action here at NTR today, Hunter Derrick from Centerburg, Ohio was the winner in the all-run Junior Dragster race over Brenden Colley from, Pataskala, Ohio. While the NADM Drag Racing portion from yesterday's rainout was run here today as well. Winning today was Ron Stutz from Cabot, Pennsylvania in the Quick Diesel, Bruce Block from White Pigeon, Michigan in Unlimited, and Robbie Martin from Zaleski, Ohio in the Bracket division.

Share This Page