Delaware International Speedway, Delmar, DE Jordan Watson Scores First Big Block Fall Championship Win

Discussion in 'Delaware Race Tracks' started by Race Results, Dec 16, 2015.

  1. Race Results

    Race Results Administrator Staff Member

    The 2015 Delaware State Dirt Track Championships are now in the record books. With $60,000 up for grabs a stellar group of 197 race teams packed the pits for the two day event. Taking home the lion’s share of the cash were Jordan Watson who won his first Fall Big Block Modified Championship event and Ricky Elliott who dominated a talent filled field of Super Late Models.

    In the 50-lap Big Block event it took two attempts to get the first lap in and it was Jamie Mills taking command from the drop of the green. Jordan Watson quickly worked by Matt Jester for second and Bobby Watkins climbed to third two laps later. Friday’s Small Block winner, Richie Pratt, Jr. quickly worked from his eighth starting spot into fourth and Beau Wilkins held down fifth.

    Laps 11 through 16 were caution filled. First it was H.J. Bunting getting around in the fourth turn. This a three car tangle between Scott VanGorder, Ryan Anderson and Kyle Fuller and a third for Watkins who spun in turn two.

    Mills remained in command with Watson keeps a short leash on the leader. Pratt was now up to third with David Van Horn fourth and Billy Pauch, who started in 11th up to fifth. At the halfway sign it was a tight three car battle between Mills, Watson and Pratt for the lead.

    Robert Dutton slowed on lap 26 and the yellow was out again. On the restart Watson shot to the bottom going wheel to wheel with Mills and taking the lead for lap 28. Van Horn’s drive would end with 15 to go as he slowed bringing out the yellow. On the restart Pratt began to pressure Mills for second. Pauch would slow and head to the pits on lap 41 with the race remaining green until seven to go when Scott Hulmes came to a stop in the second turn.

    On the restart, Pratt was able to work by Mills for second but would not be able to mount a serious challenge on the leader Watson before the checkered but his one-two finishes from the weekend where a huge boost for the team. Jimmy Horton took advantage of the late race cautions to finish in fourth behind Mills and Wilkins rounded out the top five.

    “I just tried to keep it as straight as possible and save the tires,” said Watson. “This is a new motor and it ran great.” Watson earned $7000 for the win plus $518 in lap leader money and the $50 bonus from Carolyn “Blondie” Parsons for supporting breast cancers awareness for a solid $7568 total.

    NAPA Big Block Modified Finish: 1. Jordan Watson; 2. Richie Pratt, Jr.; 3. Jamie Mills; 4. Jimmy Horton; 5. Beau Wilkins; 6. Brad Trice; 7. Dave Dissinger; 8. Michael White; 9. Bobby Watkins; 10. Kyle Fuller; 11. Kevin Gardner; 12. Billy Pauch; 13. Scott Hulmes; 14. Eric Kormann; 15. Robert Dutton; 16. David VanHorn; 17. Jeff Sargent; 18. Matt Jester; 19. H.J. Bunting; 20. Howard O’Neal; 21. Ryan Anderson; 22. Scott VanGorder; 23. Mike Gular; 24. Eric Vent; 25. Rocco Infante; 26. Matt Hawkins; 27. Clay Tatman; 28. Glenn Reed; 29. Dale Hawkins; 30. Scott Ambruster; DNS: Pete Visconti; DNQ: Dave Schamp; Dana Walker; Pete Serra.

Share This Page