Norway Speedway Norway, MI Labor Day 100 Results!!!

Discussion in 'Michigan Race Tracks' started by Race Results, Sep 15, 2012.

  1. Race Results

    Race Results Guest

    The best September weather the Speedway had experienced in years brought in some of the best racing Norway Speedway has seen in over a decade. Last week, Jay Baumler Jr. of Stephenson, MI won his first feature event of his career and this week he followed up by winning his first Pepsi Late Model Norway Speedway Track Championship. Baumler edged out defending champion Mike Reichenberger by 46 points. He only needed to complete one lap in the Pepsi Late Model A-feature Labor Day 100 to secure the Championship. Buamler ended up finishing an impressive fourth place in the Labor Day 100 continuing his consistent string top five finishes that allowed him to win the Championship. Possibly over shadowing Baumler’s championship was the performance of Norway MI’s Kris Kelly. Kelly set fast time with a blistering 14.579 and then came from the rear of the field in the fast dash to edge out Mike Reichenberger for the win. Just as impressive was the fact that he started 12th in the Labor Day 100 and went on to win; completing the first clean sweep at Norway Speedway in many years. Following Kelly was Tom Lindquist of Bark River, Tom Gee Jr. of Sobieski, Jay Baumler Jr. was fourth and Greg Haese of Manitowoc was fifth. Mike Reichenberger, Tony Wells and one of the most improved drivers at the Speedway, Mike D’Angelo Jr. rounded out the top eight. Heat race winners were Shawn Majkrzak of Menominee, Anthony Paupore, who won his first race of his career and the third heat race was won by Tom Lindquist. In the Pepsi Late Model B-Feature, which was marred by nine caution flags, Reagon May of Depere, WI survived to take the win. Scott Stanchina of Kingsford was second, followed by Kris Oliver, Bruce White and Shawn Majkrzak.

    In the Auto Value Super Stock Division Mark Jenshak of Escanaba, MI used his experience in keeping the Auto Value Super Stock Track Championship in the family. Marks brother Ron won the Championship in 2008-10 and Mark won it last year followed by a back to back win for this year’s Championship. Jenshak, who was down by close to 30 points at the midseason mark, maintained his poise and used some consistent finishes in the second half of the season to overtake Ryan Wender and Brett Bray for the Championship. Mike Bubloni Jr. of Quinnisec, MI took fast time with a 16.294. Jenshak won the dash followed by Brett Bray. In the first heat Jim Stachowicz and Jeff Boettcher raced side by side for seven laps before Stachowicz edged him out for the win. The Auto Value Super Stock A-feature was led by 2012 Sand’s Speedway Champion Steve Pepin for 4 laps until rookie driver Tanner Kelly of Norway took the lead. On lap 20, Ryan Wender of Upper Pine Creek overtook Kelly and went on to win his fourth feature event of the season. Jim Stachowicz of Norway was second followed by Brett Bray of Norway, who finished runner up in championship points. Mark Jenshak was fourth and Tanner Kelly was fifth. Rounding out the top eight were Neal Sannes of Green Bay, WI, Steve Pepin of Marquette, MI and Jeff Beottcher of Spread Eagle, WI.

    In the Dairy Queen Dog Fab Four division Cody Skog won his second track championship in a dominant fashion defeating Trever Cronick by 105 championship points. Escanaba’s Matt Adams won the first heat followed by Cody Skog and Rick St. Vincent. The second heat was won by Rhianna Carne followed by Jim Stanchina and Trever Cronick. The B-Feature was won by Chad Kay followed by Dan Artibee of Marquette, MI, Jeremy Kay and Anthony Schiefelbein. The A-Feature was won by Matt Adams, Cody Skog was second and Rhianna Carne was third. The U.P Small Car Championships also came to a conclusion and Matt Adams of Escanaba was crowned Upper Michigan’s top driver in the two day event! The top ten in points can be found at

    The Wisconsin Sport Trucks also made their fourth showing of the season. Brian Vixmer was the fast qualifier with a 16.436. Eric Johnson won the dash and Blaine Habeck was second. Jason Plutz won the first heat followed by Brian Vixmer. The Feature was won by Brent Vanhorn. Brian Monday came in second. Brian Vixmer, Jason Plutz, and Kyle Quella rounded out the top five.

    For complete results go to .

Share This Page