National Trail Raceway, Hebron, OH Martin, Galbraith and Cook score North Central Division Jr. Championships

Discussion in 'Ohio Race Tracks' started by Race Results, Sep 16, 2012.

  1. Race Results

    Race Results Guest

    Martin, Galbraith and Cook score North Central Division Jr. Championships presented by
    Sep 12

    It was a great weekend of racing at Kil-Kare Dragway in Xenia, Ohio for the 2012 North

    presented by

    Central Division Jr. Championships presented by with Cody Martin, Tyler Galbraith and Logan Cook leading the list of winners as Division 3 Champions.

    Martin from Beaverton, Mich. not only claimed the North Central Division Championship in the 13-17 year old class on Sunday, he also captured the VP Racing Fuels Race of Champions on Saturday. Martin’s 2012 Half Scale Jr. dragster was also selected as the Best Engineered Car at the event.

    A double breakout decided the 13-17 year old final as Philip Jefferson of Brooksville, Ky. had a slight advantage on the starting line, however broke out with a 7.892 on his 7.92 dial-in to give Martin the win with his 7.971 on his 7.98 dial-in. Nicole Medeisis of New Lenox, Ill. made it to the sixth round before a breakout loss to Martin to become the lone semi-finalist.

    The Galbraith family added another division championship Wally to the trophy case as 12-year old Tyler can now place his Wally along side his dad Troy’s 2011 Spitzer Race Cars Top Dragster Division Championship trophy. The final round was decided by a double breakout with Chais Taylor of Louisville recording an 8.937 on his 8.99 dial-in to Galbraith’s .002-under 8.938. Preston Tanner from Rensselaer, Ind. and Makenna Brown of Powell, Ohio were semi-finalists.

    A pair of central-Ohio racers met in the 8 & 9 year old final with Cook racing for National Trail Raceway capturing the win over Caleb Burns from Pacemakers Dragway. Cook had the better reaction time and was first across the finish line with a 12.920 on his 12.90 dial-in to Burns’ 12.950 on his 12.94. Todd Martel of Carleton, Mich. made it to the fourth round for the lone semi-finalist.

    Saturday was packed full of action with the VP Racing Fuels Race of Champions for the top point leaders from the North Central Division member tracks and a special Fun Race benefitting the JEGS Foundation Racing for Cancer Research for those not qualified for the Race of Champions. In addition, the track had all kinds of activities that racers and families enjoyed over the weekend.

    Martin representing Mid-Michigan Motorplex captured the 13-17 year old VP Racing Fuels Race of Champions win with a near perfect 7.954 to overcome the starting line advantage by Meighan Bonnett from Windsor, Ontario racing for Milan Dragway.

    Kyle Beavers racing for Kil-Kare Dragway took the 10-12 year old win over Tori Trench from Alsip, Ill. representing Byron Dragway.

    Alyssa Eichelberger racing for Edgewater Sports Park captured the 8 & 9 year old VP Race of Champions when Jayden Mitchell from Kil-Kare who fouled.

    The Fun Race was expanded at this year’s event with 10 individual age group classes with the winners then advancing to an eliminator format to determine an overall winner who received the unique Top Fuel Piston and Rod trophy autographed by Spencer Massey winner of the Traxxas Top Fuel Shootout.

    Shelby Hamilton from Dresden, Ohio edged Meredith Miller from Streator, Ill. for the overall Fun Race win. Fun Race class winners included Gavin Beverly (8), Morgan Miodowski (9), Brad Cole (10), Jack Coughlin (11), Logan Lawrence (12), Meredith Miller (13), Mikah Miller (14), Shelby Hamilton (15), Ken Carson (16) and Harley Patrick (17-18).

    Kailey Lauterbach’s entry from Mechanicsburg, Ill. was selected as the Photos & More Best Appearing Car while Nina and Mia Jacob’s team from Sterling Heights, Mich. received the Photos & More Best Appearing Crew honors. As mentioned earlier Cody Martin’s entry was the Photos & More Best Engineered Award winner.

    The 2012 North Central Division Jr. Champions along with the NHRA Eastern Conference Champions will be honored at the annual “Land of the Winners” Awards Banquet to be held Saturday, December 8 at the Sheraton Indianapolis Keystone at the Crossing.

Share This Page