Motordrome Speedway, Smithton, PA Motordrome Speedway Crowns Its Champions

Discussion in 'Pennsylvania Race Tracks' started by Race Results, Dec 22, 2015.

  1. Race Results

    Race Results Administrator Staff Member


    (West Newton, PA) – After an exciting 2015 race season, Motordrome Speedway officially crowned all five of its NASCAR Division Champions at their annual awards banquet in West Newton, PA.

    The tracks premier division title went to the driver of the #95 Late Model Garry Wiltrout. To say that Wiltrout had an impressive season would be an understatement. Hampered by injuries, Wiltrout was able to fend off the stiff competition for 10 wins and 17 Top Fives.

    “This has been a dream season,” said Wiltrout. “We picked up more wins and had no bad luck. Usually, you have a few engine problems or get in a few wrecks, but we didn’t experience any of that this year.”

    Rounding out the Top 5 in the Late Model Division was Bobby Henry (2nd), Steve Black (3rd), Robert Cossell, Jr. (4th) and Matt Sever (5th).

    The Modified Division, which week in and week out put on some of the best racing at the track, saw the #00 of Adam Kostelnik awarded the track’s Champion.

    Rounding out the Top 5 in the Modified Division was Lonnie Hoffman, Bryan Shipp, A.J. Poljak, Dustin Blank and Pete Rech.

    The Championship in the Street Stock Division went to the #00 of Scott Aiello. Aiello piloted his #00 to victory lane numerous times and when he wasn’t taking the checkered flag he was finishing 2nd most of the time.
    The remainder of the Top 5 in the Street Stock Division was Anthony Aiello, Lauren Butler, Ryan Escott and Andrew Kostelnik.

    The Charger Division Title went to the driver of the #17 Stephen Shelpman. The rest of the Top 5 was Joe Geary, Frank Novak, Mike George and Dale Kimberly.

    The Subway Super Compact Division Championship went to the $95 of Aaron Van Fleet. Van Fleet not only brought home a track championship but was also battling all year for a National Title in Division V of the NASCAR Whelen All American Series. After a very strong 2015 season Van Fleet finished 3rd in the Nation and won the track championship.

    The remainder of the Top 5 included Angie Kimberly, Brian Noel, Tom Obrocto and Jeff Symsek.

    The track also passed out some special awards to those that exhibited excellence both on and off of the track.

    Those awards are as follows:
    Rookie of the Year:

    Late Model Division: #50 Robert Cossell, Jr.

    Modified Division: # 9 Pete Rech

    Street Stock Division: #50 Paul Secrist

    Charger Division: #44 Frank Novak

    Subway Super Compact Division: #64 Tom Anton

    Most Improved Driver of the Year:

    Late Model Division: # 1 Steve Black

    Modified Division: # 9 Pete Rech

    Street Stock Division: #53 Lauren Butler

    Charger Division: #69 Dale Kimberly

    Subway Super Compact Division: #69 Angie Kimberly

    Sportsman of the Year: #64 Tom Anton

    Crew Chief/Mechanic of the Year: A.J. Poljak

    Motordrome Speedway would like to thank all of its drivers, crew members, fans, sponsors, employees and officials for all of their support in 2015 and we look forward to seeing everyone back in 2016. Opening Night 2016 has been set for Friday, April 29th!

Share This Page