Salina Speedway Salina, KS Murray Closes Fall Fling With Win

Discussion in 'Kansas Race Tracks' started by Race Results, Oct 3, 2012.

  1. Race Results

    Race Results Guest

    After a quick drop-in last week to check things out David Murray put together a solid performance and bested night one winner Jordan Grabouski to finish off the 2012 season at the Salina Speedway on Saturday September 29, 2012.

    Murray piloted his Belleville Motorsports chassis to the win in the IMCA Modified main event, but had to slice and dice his way through heavy lapped traffic to get it done. Grabouski briefly reeled in Murray during the traffic but once Murray broke free it was all over. Grabouski finished second, followed by Grant Junghans, Corey Lagroon, and Stacey Wilhelm. Brandon Blochlinger picked up the win in the B Feature while Wilhelm, Lagroon, Murray, and Kurt Johnston won the heat races.

    Doubling up on the weekend was Belleville’s Tyler Frye, who took home a total of $2,000 for his two wins during the Fall Fling in the Xtreme Motorsports IMCA Northern SportMods. Frye made short work of the field from his inside second row starting position. Kurtis Pihl followed in second with Dustin Daniels third, Blaine Walt fourth, and Steve Swarthout fifth. Daniels won the B Feature while Swarthout, Dusty Leonard, Pihl, and Frye won the heat races.

    Another double-up occured in the Budweiser IMCA Hobby Stock division as Brian Weinhold won his second race in only his second start on the year. This time he beat out front-runner Adam Armstrong for the win. Armstrong finished second with Pete Beaumont, Scott Cossel, and Jeremy Auten rounding out the top five. Rick Slothower, Tommy Fose, and Mike Traskowsky won the heat races.

    Salina’s Russell Roberg looked to be en route for another feature win in the T&R Dirt Construction Mini Stock division before pulling off with mechanical difficulties. Scott Spellmeier piloted his front wheel drive to Victory Lane, beating out Brian Dunsworth, the night one winner. Dallas Dunn finished third with Victoria White fourth and Eric Unruh fifth. Dunn, Spellmeier, and Roberg won the heat races.

    The Auto House Mod Lite division made their one night appearance with Chris Unruh taking home the win. It was no easy task as Unruh had to hold off veteran Bud Lee to get it done. Lee finished second with Corbin Pickerill third, Nick Watts fourth, and Brandon Gray in fifth. Pickerill and Lee won the heat races.

    For Selden’s Jason Rogers, a smooth race led to a big win over some big company in the Coors Light IMCA Stock Car feature. Rogers held off Kyle Vanover, last year’s Fall Fling Champion, for the win. Josh Hudson finished third, with Jeffrey Anderson fourth, and Scot Granzella fifth. Rogers and Vanover won the heat races.

    Up next on the calendar for the Salina Speedway will be the awards banquet. A date and more information on the banquet will be released at a later time.

    For more information on the Salina Speedway please visit, Like us on Facebook , or Follow us on Twitter @salinaspeedway1

    by Dusty Wiegert

Share This Page