Tri-City Motor Speedway Auburn, MI Record Participants Attempt to Conquer 2nd Annual TCMS Battle By the Bay

Discussion in 'Michigan Race Tracks' started by Race Results, Sep 16, 2012.

  1. Race Results

    Race Results Guest

    Sep 8, 2012 (Auburn MI) The second annual Battle By The Bay and its increased payout to the winners drew drivers from across Michigan and Ohio to the sacred racing grounds of Tri City Motor Speedway Saturday night. A record number of 137 drivers and cars overflowed the pit area with everyone holding high hopes of bringing home the large check for a feature win.

    The rains that arrived on Friday night helped create a fast track at the beginning of Saturday night’s festivities. The J&D Landscaping Mini Sprints, who had been scheduled to run their events on Friday, were held over to complete the third leg of their Triple Crown Series. #22r Rusty Reyelts led the field to the green flag of their feature event. Rookie #38 Mack Erickson and #4 Chris Smalley, who had won the previous two Mini Sprint features, were the only two that were to challenge for the lead. Erickson would fade and Smalley would end up retiring from the event early handing the 2012 Woodtic winner Reyelts an easy victory. Erickson would finish a distant second with #2 Randy Plamondon third. Reyelts also won the heat.

    Thirty-six K&C Transport Open Modified drivers converged on TCMS, many for their first visit, and were whittled down to the best eighteen drivers of the night for the 36-lap feature paying over $2000 to win. #711 Scott Peyton took advantage of his front row start and led the first ten laps and looke dliek the man the beat. However, a the race took a long green flag run, the track became slick and proved the finesse as well as speed was going to bring out the best of man and their machines. At lap eleven #19f Joey Fowler fought his way past Peyton to take the lead. The 2011 Michigan Dirt Cup Champion, #82 Jacob Poel would ride the top side of the track to wrestle the lead away from Fowler. A late race caution would bunch the field. Poel led the field back to the green flag and immediately took his modified to the top of the track giving Fowler plenty of room to attempt to reclaim the lead. They would continue to battle each other over the remaining six laps with both swapping the top spot at every turn. In the end, Fowler would conquer by a car length over Poel in an exciting finish. #1m John McClure would finish third and was followed tightly by #0x Zach Olger and Peyton. Heats were won by McClure, #01 Steve McClees, #70 Dona Marcoullier, and Poel. The two B-mains were captured by #77 Joe Rokos and #2k Aaron Morey.

    Over thirty of Midwest’s best Late Model Drivers fought for the eighteen starting spots in the Main Street Seed & Supply Late Model main event. #60 Dona Marcoullier, who had just finished the modified feature, and #0p Kris Patterson Jr led the field to the green flag for the main event. It ended up being those two that would dominate the front of the field for the entire race. Patterson, who always excels on a slick track busted out to a large lead for the first seventeen laps. But Marcoullier’s machine was steadily improving and he was able to chase Patterson down. He took over the point at lap eighteen before Patterson would take the lead back on twenty-five. However, two laps later, Marcoullier would take over the lead for good and cross the finish line ahead of the rest of the field. Patterson would have to settle for runner-up. He was followed by another driver running in two divisions, #0x Zach Olger, Ohio driver #77k Steve Kester, and Mt. Pleasant stand out #13 Andy Galgoci. Heat gold went to Marcoullier, Patterson, Olger, and #91 Rusty Schlenk. The two b-mains were taken by 2011 Champion #72 Kyle Borgman and #42 Bruce Vance.

    The Tri City RV Street Stocks had thirty-four drivers vying for the eighteen starting spots in the evening’s main event. #37 Mike Spencer and #7-11 Richie Sutherland had the privilege of leading a tough field to the green flag for the feature. By lap two, Crystal Motor Speedway standout #99 Doug Helsel moved from his sixth place starting spot and snatched the lead away from the field by lap two. He jumped out to a straightaway advantage over the field until Sand Lake’s #55 Mike Vandermark Jr, using the low side, took the lead in lapped traffic. Former Mt Pleasant champion #77b Rob Brillhart would move from his tenth place starting position to challenge Vandermark in the closing laps. However, both drivers were locked in the low groove and Vandermark was able to hold off Brillhart at the stripe for the win. Third was taken by Helsel. #7d Brenten Deyoung and #7r Dave Newcomb would complete the top five. #21k James King and 2012 Track Champion #21d Darren Mularz had to win their B-mains to make the main event. Heat gold went to Deyoung, Vandermark, Brillhart, and Spencer.

    Twenty-seven Hooter’s Pro Stocks came to TCMS with hopes of winning the feature event. #66 Nate Jones and 2011 Champion #40 Ron Bieri took the field of eighteen to the green flag of the feature. Jones absolutely dominated the race. Like last year’s modified Battle By the Bay feature, it looked to be Jones’ race to lose. #54 Chaney Newland, last year’s winner, had numerous opportunities to lead laps. Newland would finally get his chance with four laps remaining as Jones unexpectedly pulled out of the race with a sour sounding motor. This handed Newland the victory for the second year in a row and Newland’s thirteenth 2012 feature between TCMS and Crystal Motor Speedway. #65 Don Rohn would slip by Track Champion #M65 Rick Spencer for second on the final corner. The top five was completed by #71 Timmy Near and #13 Derek Poland. B-mains were won by #51 Mark Yakes and #11 Lawrence Sprague. Near, Newland, and Bieri took their heat races.

    Tri City Motor Speedway will take this week off to prepare for the recently added ASCS Sprints On Dirt Season Championship night on Saturday, September 22nd. Late Models, Street Stocks, IMCA Modifieds and Topless Pro Stocks will also be a part of the action for our season ending show. If you can’t make it, follow all the results via Twitter at or on our Tri City Motor Speedway Facebook page (Don’t forget to “like” us)!!! For more information about this show, or the Racer’s Swap Meet on October 13th, you can find us at ! Got Dirt? Get some before the season is over at the New Tri City Motor Speedway!!!

Share This Page