Salina Speedway Salina, KS Smith, Grabouski Headline Night One Of Fall Fling

Discussion in 'Kansas Race Tracks' started by Race Results, Oct 3, 2012.

  1. Race Results

    Race Results Guest

    On a night where one hundred thirty-three race teams checked in there were six big winners on an extremely competitive surface on night one of the Salina Speedway Fall Fling September 28, 2012.

    The night’s headlining division, the Friesen Chevrolet Late Models presented by M&H Motors and Cave Diver’s Liquor, featured three different leaders to cap off a huge evening. Justin Kinderknecht led from the pole early ahead of Delbert Smith. After an onslaught of caution laps Smith worked his way by Kinderknecht for the lead while Gary Gorby got by also. After another restart bunched up the leaders the “Iceman”￾ and “G-man”￾ stole the show with a side by side battle giving the lead to Gorby before Smith reeled him back in and took over. Gorby pitted late during a caution for a flat tire, ending his strong run while Kinderknecht spun to also put him in the back. From there Smith took the win followed by Bill Leighton, Jimmy Segraves, Darrick Klima, and Dave Conkwright. Tad Pospisil, Segraves, and Smith won the heat races.

    A wild Belleville Motorsports IMCA Modified feature was in store for the fans that ended with reigning National Champion Jordan Grabouski picking up the feature win. Brandon Blochlinger and David Murray staged a battle early but Blochlinger stalled caused a caution giving the lead to Murray. Grabouski picked off Murray to take the win with Murray second, Brian Knoell third, Joe Cleveland fourth, and Rodger Peck fifth. Grabouski also posted the win in the B Feature. Mike Petersilie, Murray, Corey Lagroon, and Peck were the heat winners.

    Greg Metz looked to have the Xtreme Motorsports IMCA Northern SportMod feature wrapped up but Tyler Frye came into the mix to pass Metz and take the win with Metz in second. Dusty Leonard drove up from thirteenth to finish third after winning the B Feature, with Dustin Daniels fourth, and Dan Smith in fifth. Jeff Olson, Jeremy Chambers, Metz, and Josh Rice picked up heat race wins earlier in the evening.

    The most unusual turn of events occured post-race in the Coors Light IMCA Stock Car feature. Cory Dumpert took the quick lead and dominated the feature event to take the checkered first. Kyle Vanover had to pit for a tire and went to the back of the twelve car field only to run back up to second at the finish, followed by Nolan Remus, Justin Murdock, Bill Wood, and Bob Arnold. During post-race tech it was discovered that Dumpert had an outstanding fine yet to be paid to IMCA. This resulted in a disqualification, giving the win to Vanover. Dustin Newlin and Remus won the heat races.

    Brian Weinhold made his return to the Salina Speedway aboard a Budweiser IMCA Hobby Stock and showed that he still had it, taking the first night win in the division. Weinhold had no problem taking the win, beating out this season’s track Champion GW Fuller, Aaron McBride, Pete Beaumont, and Adam Armstrong. Rick Slothower, Fuller, and Armstrong picked up the heat race wins.

    Brian Dunsworth shot to the lead aboard his T&R Dirt Construction Mini Stock from the outside pole position and never relinqueshed in to score another victory in the division. Braden Stoner worked his way to second for the night with Scott Spellmeier third, Dallas Dun fourth, and Russell Roberg in fifth. Victoria White won the B Feature while Spellmeier, Roberg, and Paco Montague won the heat races.

    The final night of the 2nd Annual Fall Fling concludes the 2012 season tonight at the Salina Speedway. Race time is set for 7PM.

    For more information on the Salina Speedway visit, Like us on Facebook, or Follow us on Twitter @salinaspeedway1

    by Dusty Wiegert

Share This Page