34 Raceway West Burlington, IA Smith wins MOWA special at 34 Raceway

Discussion in 'Iowa Race Tracks' started by Administrator, Sep 24, 2012.

  1. Administrator

    Administrator Administrator Staff Member

    BURLINGTON, IA (9-22-12) ”“ The Midwest Open Wheel Association 410 Sprints took on the 3/8 mile of 34 Raceway on a cool Saturday evening Sept. 22. Danny Smith, Chillicothe, Il. took the checkered flag in the 30 lap main event. Race fans also saw Tony Dunker, Quincy, Il. win the Weikert Iron and Metal IMCA Sport Mod feature as well as claiming the 2012 Sport Mod Track Championship. Mike Morrill, making the trip from Pleasant Hill, Iowa also went home with a feature win and claimed the 2012 Holmes Concrete Mod Lite championship. The I-Wireless/Louisa Communications 4 Cylinders saw Austen Becerra, Carthage, Il win his second straight feature win at 34.

    Coming up this week, Sept. 29 will be Sprints, Mod Lites, Quads and Pit Bike Races at 34 Raceway. The Brockway Mechanical & Roofing Sprint Invaders 360 Sprints Season Championship will be held at 34 Raceway this week. Changed from Lee County Speedway to 34 Raceway, the Sprint Invaders will decide who will be the 2012 Season Champion this Saturday. Following the Night of the Twins at 34 Raceway on August 18, Ryan Jamison leads the point race with 1682 points followed by Bobby Mincer with 1650 points. The program will also include the Mod Lite Bilstein Starts Nationals race as they compete for a $600 to win prize. Some of the best in Mod Lite racing will be here taking on the 3/8 mile.

    Also on Saturday, Sept. 29, for the first time at 34 Raceway will be Quad and Pit Bike racing. Midwest Performance and Power, Shottenkirk Quickland, and American Family Insurance (Cory Richards, Agent) present the first ever pit bike and quad race at 34 Raceway! The track will be made tight on the front stretch for elbow-to-elbow racing. Set up between the racetrack and the advertising billboards the course will include right and left hand turns along with small jumps. No portion of the race will take place on the actual race track itself. For more information contact: Nick Eastin 319-572-0595

    Three heat races and a B-Main set the field for the Midwest Open Wheel Association 30 lap 410 Sprint feature in their second stop at 34 Raceway this year. Twenty-two cars started the main event with Critter Malone and Terry McCarl on the front row.

    A flip in turn one by Matt Harms brought out the red flag on the first lap of the race stopping the main event briefly. When the action resumed it would be Malone taking the early lead. Malone was holding a commanding lead before he suddenly slowed on the back stretch eventually coming to a stop bringing out the first caution of the night. When racing resumed, Terry McCarl took over the number one spot and would begin to pull away from the field. Another red flag came out on lap seventeen after a car flipped in turn two and when the racing resumed, Danny Smith took advantage of the restart and moved in to the second spot behind McCarl. McCarl continued to lead the field for the next nine laps. Then on lap twenty-seven of the thirty lapper, Smith would get by McCarl for the lead on very fast track and went on to take the checkered flag.

    Austen Becerra, Carthage, Il. picked up his second straight win. Becerra took the lead on the first lap and never looked back. Billy Stanford took over the second spot on lap six of the twelve lap race and Brandon Lambert would follow to finish third.

    It was Season Championship night for the Weikert Iron and Metal IMCA Sport Mods and getting the win and championship was Tony Dunker of Quincy, Il. Dunker took the lead from his front row start and never looked back. John Oliver, moved into the second spot on lap nine of the fifteen lap race to follow Dunker across the finish line in the sixteen car feature.

    The Holmes Concrete Mod Lites also completed their 2012 point season Saturday with their Season Championship night. Mike Morrill, also would get the win and track championship taking the checkered flag ahead of Evan Epperson and Greg Rossell.

    34 Raceway Sept. 22, 2012 results

    FEATURE: 1. Danny Smith, Chillicothe, Il., 2. Terry McCarl, Altoona, 3. Jerrod Hull, Sikeston, Mo., 4. Robbie Standridge, Springfield, Il., 5. Tony Bruce, Knoxville, 6. Joey Moughan, Springfield, Il., 7. Ian Madsen, Knoxville, 8. Korey Weyant, Springfield, Il., 9. AJ Bruns, Athens, Il., 10. Austin McCarl, Pleasant Hill, 11. Jarrod Schneiderman, West Burlington, 12. Jim Moughan, Springfield, Il., 13. Jeremy Standridge, Sprinfield, Il., 14. Ben Wagoner, Emden, Il., 15. John Schulz, West Burlington, 16. Donnie Steward, West Bulrington, 17. Jimmy Light, 18. Caleb Wankel, Jacksonville, Il., 19. Jordon Goldesberry, Springfield, Il., 20. Critter Malone, Speedway, In., 21. Bobby Mincer, Burlington, 22. Matt Harms, Lacon, Il.,
    B. Feature: 1. Ian Madsen, Knoxville
    HEAT 1: Robbie Standridge, 2. Korey Weyant, 3. Jerrod Hull, 4. Joey Moughan, 5. Donnie Steward, 6. Jarrod Schneiderman, 7. Ian Madsen, 8. Bobby Mincer, 9. Josh Schneiderman. HEAT 2: 1. Critter Malone, 2. Jordon Godesberry, 3. John Schulz, 4. Jimmy Light, 5. AJ Bruns, 6. Austin McCarl, 7. Logan Faucon, 8. Ben Wagoner, 9. Chris Urish. HEAT 3: 1. Danny Smith, 2. Matt Harms, 3. Terry McCarl, 4. Jeremy Standridge, 5. Jim Moughan, 6. Tony Bruce, 7. Jimmy Davies, 8. Caleb Wankel.
    DASH WINNER: Critter Malone.

    FEATURE: 1. Tony Dunker, Quincy, Il., 2. John Oliver, Jr., Danville, 3. Creston Williams, Atkins, 4. Sean Wyett, Danville, 5. Phillip Cossel, Montrose, 6. Derek St. Clair, Donnellson, 7. Miles Shelman, Ames, 8. Rod Staats, Columbus Jct., 9. Derek Coleman, New London, 10. Mike Shelton Bloomfield, 11. Wm. Jay Kirchner, Wonnellson,1 2. Levi Smith, Donnellson, 13. Dustan Fenton, Burlington, 14. M. Joe Bliven, Quincy, Il., 15. Charles Vanzandt, Camp Point, Il., 16. Bobby Six, Keokuk. HEAT WINNERS: Dunker, Smith.

    FEATURE: 1. Austen Becerra, Carthage, Il., 2. Billy Stanford, Wapello, 3. Brandon Lambert, Carthage, Il., 4. Dustin Ravelin, Burlington, 5. Alex Hayes, Iowa City, 6. Bryan Shipley, Burlington, 7. Brandon Reu, Donnellson, 8. Kody Bass, Muscatine, 9. Troy Wonders, Washington, 10. Travis Smith, LaHarpe, Il., 11. Sean Baker, 12. Adam Gates, Cedar Rapids, 13. Brian Mehaffy, Danville. HEAT WINNERS: Becerra, Stanford.

    FEATURE: 1. Mike Morrill, Pleasant Hill, 2. Evan Epperson, Muscatine, 3. Greg Rossell, Knoxville, Il., 4. Daniel Keltner, Wapello, 5. Joe Huggins, Pleasant, Hill, 6. Collin Ball, Wapello, 7. Andrew Smith, Kirkwood, Il., 8. Blake Woodruff, East Galesburg, Il., 9. Jimmy Halcomb, Kirkwood, Il., 10. Devon Rouse, Burlington, 11. Jared Halcomb, Monmouth, Il., 12. Chase Flatt, Monmouth, Il., 13. Justin Buchholz, Davenport. HEAT WINNERS: Morrill, Flatt.

Share This Page