I-80 Speedway, Greenwood, NE The Spring Meltdown kicks off the 2015 I-80 Schedule

Discussion in 'Nebraska Race Tracks' started by Race Results, Feb 1, 2015.

  1. Race Results

    Race Results Administrator Staff Member

    While its only January, time will pass quickly and it will once again be racing season in the Midwest. I-80 Speedway is already planning for their season opening Spring Meltdown which kicks off their 2015 racing season.
    The engines will fire on Thursday, April 2 for an open practice session and then on Friday, April 3, the 2015 season will officially open with the Spring Meltdown with complete programs for Super Late Models, 360 Sprints, A Mods and Stock Car/ProAms. Then on Saturday, April 4 it’s another set of complete racing programs for all four classes.
    The Spring Meltdown will feature two nights of Super Late Model racing featuring the cars and stars of the Corn Belt Clash (CBC) series and the Midwest Late Model Racing Association (MLRA), The Super Late Models will pay $2,000 to win on Friday and $5,000 to win on Saturday night. Terry Phillips and Rodney Sanders are the defending Super Late Model winners. Chad Simpson is the defending champion of the both the CBC and MLRA series.
    This year, a new twist has been added for the Super Late Models. The Spring Meltdown will be the start of the Chase to the Silver Dollar Nationals as cars attempt to qualify for a special race to be held as the last event on Friday, July 17 of the Silver Dollar Nationals. Sixteen cars will eventually qualify for the Chase race which will pay $2,000 to win and $200 to start and feature three (3) six lap dashes with the last four cars dropping out of each of the first two segments.
    The Spring Meltdown will also feature two complete shows of 360 Sprint Car racing sanctioned by the Nebraska 360 Sprint Car Series. Terry McCarl and Danny Lasoski won last year’s 360 Spring Meltdown Features. Trevor Grossenbacher is the defending Nebraska 360 Champion. The Nebraska 360 Sprints will be kicking off their third season and are already looking forward to the event. “It looks like a great way to start off our 2015 racing season.”￾ says Nebraska 360 President Dennis Parker.
    In addition, the A Mods and Stock Cars/ProAms will be running complete shows both nights as well with the A Mods paying $1,000 to win both nights. Jordan Grabouski and Chris Abelson were A Mod feature winners at last year’s Meltdown. Stock Car/ProAms have been added to the Meltdown this year and they will be racing for $600 to win each night. So while it may seem far off, the 2015 I-80 Speedway season is right around the corner.

Share This Page